The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Ennio Morricone – “Il Triello” from Il Buono, Il Brutto, Il Cattivo OST (1967)

I give you the full-length Italian release of the final track from the greatest film score of all time.

Popular instrumental music is deeply indebted to Ennio Morricone. There would be no Calexico or Explosions in the Sky without Morricone’s unabashedly bold and triumphant soundtracks.

Nothing consistently gives me shivers like the trumpet passage here. When I hear it, I can see a vivid rendition of that final showdown and I am reminded that this is the perfect intersection of film and music.

Buy the film and/or soundtrack (version Italiano)

Posted by Jordy

4 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Soundtrack

4 responses to “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

  1. you have inspired me to get back into this stuff. once i started digging up john zorn material like crazy, then I got into Ennio’s music. but got derailed somehow. truly some of the best instrumental music.

  2. Jordy

    Glad to have helped. I too have only scratched the surface of his genius.

  3. Woody

    Absolutely beautiful track, thank you for sharing this nostalgia with me!

  4. Thanks for this score. I was looking for it for days.

Leave a comment