“and then my mind split open”

The Velvet Underground – “I Heard Her Call My Name” from White Light/White Heat (1968)

Last night, after drinking a wonderful Sazerac cocktail, I heard Yo La Tengo play Durham NC. The cavernous acoustics of the Carolina Theater didn’t help the sound, but the show still split my mind. One of YLT’s encores was a noisy version of the Velvets classic “I Heard Her Call My Name.”

Back in ’94, Yo La Tengo portrayed the Velvets in the film I Shot Andy Warhol. Watch a clip (but no YLT) here.

Catch Yo La Tengo live

Buy the Velvet Underground

Posted by Glenn

2 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Experimental, Psychedelic, Rock

2 responses to ““and then my mind split open”

  1. Jeff Wheeler

    I’d be really interested to hear what you think of the new David Bazan (ex-PTL) album which critics are saying is all about his newfound agnosticism (and freshly defeated alcoholism)–I think it’s a really damn interesting. I had kinda stopped listening to the guy because I didn’t think much of it would be terribly relatable after I stopped trying to make the Xian thing work. I think the music is really good though, and I think the lyrics are really good. And I’d be interested in your opinion of it, because all I’m seeing is glowing praise from ex-PTL fans, glowing praise from many critics, but not a lot of other people’s ideas.

    Also, this was my first favorite song off “White Light/White Heat/White Noise/White Lightning/White Power/White Wine/White Trash/White Man’s Burden” by the Velvetoids–especially the guitar solo prefaced by the namesake phrase of your post.

  2. “and then my mind split open” | So Well Remembered I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about “and then my mind split open” | So Well Remembered Best Regards Cassetta Cindy

Leave a comment