“I’m sure that it’s hard being you”

Sketch by Rodolphe Guenoden

Sketch by Rodolphe Guenoden

Clem Snide – “The Curse of Great Beauty” from The Ghost of Fashion [2001]

Clem Snide frontman Eef Barzelay is almost too literate to be taken seriously.  But he’s just so damned clever. I think this song is not necessarily a great introduction to the band’s sound, but I can’t get this song out of my head, so I unleash it to the blog-public. It’s a masterpiece of understatement; almost strictly vocals on top of a little organ warble.  Check out all of Your Favorite Music for a better sense of why Clem Snide is so good.

Clem Snide’s got a new album out. They’re on tour.

Buy it here

Posted by Phil

1 Comment

Filed under 2000s, Rock, Singer-Songwriter

One response to ““I’m sure that it’s hard being you”

  1. Jeff Wheeler

    I recommended that the library order Nico Muhly’s new vehicle. I say this on the Clem Snide post because as far as I can tell both those guys have names that seem unfamiliar and don’t bear a specific connection to any culture or tongue from which I sometimes presume to be able to recognize names.

Leave a comment