“So much beauty and just enough time to figure out how to destroy it”

Jeff W., is that you?

Jeff W., is that you?

Drive-By Truckers – “The Opening Act” from Brighter Than Creation’s Dark (2008)

I’m a little late to hop on the Drive-By Truckers Mechanical Bull Ride, which is too bad, because they used to play down here in Greensboro on a fairly regular basis. While their latest album is not nearly perfect, this song is.

“The Opening Act” is a Tonight’s The Night-esque epic. The bit toward the end, where the narrator sees the sun “rising over a Technicolor horizon,” is a beautiful example of how good bands use color and variation in music to illustrate the dramatic weight of the lyrics. The song just seems to lift off right there.

Buy it here

Posted by Glenn

6 Comments

Filed under 2000s, Country, Rock, Roots rock

6 responses to ““So much beauty and just enough time to figure out how to destroy it”

  1. Ahh, this song was such a find, sublime and lyrics that entertain! Thank you.

  2. Jeff Wheeler

    Yeah that was after graduation at Shit-Kickers. I was pretty hammered. I still feel bad about what I said to your sister, man.

    I haven’t gotten into the DBTs yet myself, although I really love the first Skynyrd album and have been trying to plow my way through the beanfield of alt-country. This tune is good–especially the end. Did Phil ever get you to listen to the song “Stones in My Passway” by the harlan twins here:

    http://www.myspace.com/theharlantwins

    because that song is the best neosouthernrock I’ve heard (I used to be into Lucero, but, it didn’t work out). the group is from pittsburgh where he lives.

  3. Jeff: that sounds real good.

    Do you ever listen to the Weakerthans? They’re like pop-punk country rock. Good stuff.

    • Jeff Wheeler

      Also, half their lyrics are filched from Marx and/or IWW quotes/songs/etc. (even the name weakerthan: “what force on earth is weaker than the feeble strength of one?”). I think the reason for this is that one of the dudes used to be in Propaghandi, one of Vancouver, BC’s best and brightest anarchist ska-punk-revival bands so far (if not THE best Vancouver, BC anarchist ska-punk-revival band period).

      I really like the song “pamphleteer” (mainly for the AWESOME-ly scalar chord progression during the instrumental chorus) and I downloaded the rest of it, but the guys voice has that Ben Gibbard/Mike Kinsella quality of making me think “this guy needs to get beat up.” I’ll give it another chance though. Do you have a favorite album of theirs?

  4. Yeah, and the music sometimes sounds like the Gin Blossoms. I only have “Reconstruction Site,” which has a wonderful and atypical song called “One Great City!” The refrain: “I hate Winnipeg.”

    My NOFX-loving friends in junior high used to listen to Propagandhi all the time. I thought their name was better than their music.

  5. Jeff Wheeler

    shit they are from Winnipeg. oh well. I don’t really like them either. I haven’t really liked very much pop-punk/third-wave ska in like 5 years or more, except for nostalgic reasons.

Leave a Reply

