“Joan of Arc rules Northeast, where the poor and the hipsters meet”

the protaganist of the S-K song below

the protaganist of the S-K song below

Sleater-Kinney – “Light Rail Coyote” from One Beat (2002)
Bill Fox – “Portland Town” from Transit Byzantium (1998)

I’m off to Portland, OR for a week of this, this, and this. So I offer two of my favorite Portland songs, including one from our main man, Bill Fox.

What are your fave geography tunes?

Buy S-K

Bill Fox is on iTunes, but you can check him out here

Posted by Glenn

2 Comments

Filed under 1990s, 2000s, Acoustic, Folk, Punk, Rock, Singer-Songwriter

2 responses to ““Joan of Arc rules Northeast, where the poor and the hipsters meet”

  1. Atlantic City – the Boss
    Sin City – Flying Burrito Bros
    California Saga – the Beach Boys
    does “Berlin” by Lou Reed count?

    just2nameafew.

    I think Bill Fox was actually taken off iTunes. The Fox plot thickens.

  2. Jeff Wheeler

    -“New York Town” Woodrow Wilson Guthrie
    -“Streets of Philadelphia” Boss (I prefer this to A.C., not just cuz I live here neither)
    -there must be a ton of others I’m forgetting, esp about the upper midwest from whence we hail (have you ever heard of Great Lakes Myth Society? I found their name when looking for lists to pick favorites from)

    I’ve been listening to Sin City a lot this week.

    Also, having gotten into Yes a couple months back, I really do dig (both S&G’s original and their version of) “America” which mentions 2 places I’ve lived and still hold a place in my heart (“MI seems like a dream to me now” I met a friend of mine’s little brother who lives in Livonia and has this tattoo, “greyhound in pittsburgh” used to get on those all the time–these days I fly, and the days they sure do fly, don’t they?)

Leave a Reply

