Live, live?

Live

Live – “Selling the Drama” from Throwing Copper [1994]

The band Live (ryhmes with jive) represents several firsts for me.  This album, Throwing Copper, was the first album I ever acquired on CD.  This song, “Selling the Drama,” was the first song of theirs that I heard on the radio, and subsequently made me a fan.  Also, Live was the first band I saw in concert without parental supervision, on the Secret Samadhi tour, back when I was in eighth grade.

I still listen to Throwing Copper and  Secret Samadhi every few months, and every now and then one of their songs will pop into my head for no apparent reason.  According to my last.fm page, I’ve listened to 51 tracks by the band over the past 12 months.  Not bad for a band who I have not purchased a new album by in twelve years.  I didn’t even know, for example, that they released an album in 2006 called Songs from Black Mountain, or a live album (that’s right, a live Live album) in November of last year.

I’ve always liked singer Ed Kowalczyk’s voice, and the thought-provoking lyrical content on Throwing Copper and Secret Samadhi (I can’t speak for their newer albums).  Plus, Live is one of the few bands that I listened to then that I still come back to today, which adds a nice bit of nostalgia for me.  This must be what it feels like for my mom to listen to the Beatles today.

Buy Live

Posted by Adam

2 Comments

Filed under 1990s, Rock

2 responses to “Live, live?

  1. Mookie Wilson

    This band is terrible.

  2. Live, live? | So Well Remembered I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Live, live? | So Well Remembered Best Regards Schaad Cindy

Leave a Reply

