“I got wild, staring eyes – and I got a strong urge to fly”

I understand and agree with most of the criticism of Pink Foyd’s The Wall as a bloated, self-indulgent concept album.  Consequently, while it played almost constantly on my car stereo during my junior year of high school, I now can barely listen to it.  But I also know that many of you will agree that it stands alone among rock operas in its darkness and, often, its songwriting.  The Wall certainly doesn’t get a fair shake on your classic rock radio station where they only play “tasty tracks” like “Young Lust,” “Run Like Hell,” and the now very boring “Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2).”

But if you strip out most of the songs with electric guitar, you’re left with some very good, very affecting tunes that seem even better when you try to forget that they were ever even on this album.  I mean songs like “Nobody Home,” one of my favorites.

Buy the Floyd

Posted by Jordy

5 Comments

Filed under 1970s, Rock, Rock Opera

5 responses to ““I got wild, staring eyes – and I got a strong urge to fly”

  1. Jeff Wheeler

    The first time I saw The Wall, I was 23. I didn’t like it very much.

    What I did like was the epic theme from the beginning that’s reprised when he’s a Nazi dictator “in the flesh” the c, e d cba, f e d (repeat). Very good melody.

  2. Jordy

    I won’t speak for the film, but the album has its shining moments (incl. ‘In the Flesh’).

  3. smirkdirk

    “Consequently, while it played almost constantly on my car stereo during my junior year of high school, I now can barely listen to it.”

    Interesting – almost my story exactly. I actually just downloaded it and have been daring myself to do an entire re-listen. I haven’t listened to the thing in its entirety in nearly 20 years. Some of those memories/feelings of the awkward teenager (the whole reason I was attracted to The Wall in those young years) I’m not sure I want to have come rushing back… Not all nostalgia gives one that warm, welcoming feeling.

  4. car stereos that are made by Kenwooda are the best and very durable*”-

  5. .~` I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives great information `,”

Leave a Reply

