“On a Saturday night in a town like this I forget all my songs about trains”

josh-ritter-live

Josh Ritter – “Me & Jiggs” from Golden Age of Radio (2002)

Josh Ritter – “To the Dogs or Whoever” from The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter (2007)

I discover a lot of music by watching David Letterman.  Josh Ritter was on the show about a year ago, and after seeing him perform “To The Dogs or Whoever” I was hooked.  Check the video out for yourself.  I had never heard of Mr. Ritter at that point and I figured he was a new artist promoting his first album.  But I soon found out that the album he was promoting on Letterman was his fifth studio album and was actually a departure from his first four folk-tinged, alt-country-ish albums.  The track “Me & Jiggs” is from Golden Age of Radio, his first major release.  His eponymous first album was self-released in 2000 (Golden Age was also recorded in 2000 and self-released in 2001.  It was re-released in 2002 on the Signature Sounds label).

“Me & Jiggs” reminds me of hot summer nights in a wistful, romantic version of the small town where I grew up.  The mention of Townes Van Zandt in this song prompted me to start listening to him; TVZ is now one of my favorites.

Just try to memorize all the words to “To the Dogs or Whoever.”  Go ahead, try it.

Buy Josh Ritter

Posted by Adam

2 Comments

Filed under 2000s, Acoustic, Americana, Singer-Songwriter

2 responses to ““On a Saturday night in a town like this I forget all my songs about trains”

  1. Wow, that’s a helluva live performance. Good stuff.

  2. “On a Saturday night in a town like this I forget all my songs about trains” | So Well Remembered I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about “On a Saturday night in a town like this I forget all my songs about trains” | So Well Remembered Best Regards Yoder Schaad

Leave a Reply

