“You and me, baby”

Harry Nilsson – “Love Story” from Nilsson Sings Newman (1970) and “Gotta Get Up” from Nilsson Schmilsson (1971)

Harry Nilsson was one of the greatest songwriters of the 1970s.  Moreover, he was, in my opinion, one of the finest vocalists in the last half decade of popular music.  He was melodically innovative and always precise.  His dynamic control and range were as impressive as any contemporary performer I can think of including John Lennon and Paul McCartney who both, incidentally, crushed on Nilsson big time.

His style and humor are displayed in this impressive bit of A/V:

Be still and know Nilsson

Posted by Jordy

4 Comments

Filed under 1970s, Pop

4 responses to ““You and me, baby”

  1. “Gotta Get Up” might be the best song ever written.

  2. Jordy

    I know, right? Every time I listen to it, I hear something brilliant that I somehow missed earlier. It’s like he was writing a new Beatles song a year after they broke up.

  3. Pingback: “Bring your love to me, don’t send it” « So Well Remembered

  4. Finally got around to watching this video. Good stuff

Leave a Reply

