“I started growing Bob Dylan’s beard.”

Check that beard.

Syd Barrett – “Bob Dylan Blues” from The Best of Syd Barrett: Won’t You Miss Me? (2001, org. recorded 1970s)
Minutemen – “Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songs” from What Makes A Man Start Fires? (1983)
Wilco – “Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard” from More Like The Moon (2003)
Bob Dylan – “Bob Dylan’s Dream” from The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan (1962)
Bob Dylan – “Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream” from Bringing It All Back Home (1965)

Over the past couple days, I’ve been re-watching the totally flippin’ awesome Bob Dylan documentary, No Direction Home, and got to thinking about songs with ol’ Zimmerman’s stage name in the title. Here is a Syd Barrett song of questionable quality (sorry, Crazy Diamond); a Minutemen barn-burner, stone-cold classic; and a wispy Wilco folk-er, off the great More Like The Moon EP, downloadable here.

As a bonus, I offer two Bob-Dylan-In-The-Title tunes by Bob himself (just try not to laugh along with 115th). Enjoy. And watch the movie if for some reason you haven’t already.

More Bob Dylan on SWR
Buy Syd

Buy the Minutemen

Buy the Wilc-sters

Buy Bob

Posted by Glenn

6 Comments

Filed under 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 2000s, Acoustic, Folk, Punk, Rock, Singer-Songwriter

6 responses to ““I started growing Bob Dylan’s beard.”

  1. I think the only one missing on this list must be the brilliant “Song for Bob Dylan” by David Bowie on his Hunky DOry album. Thanks for the other tracks, missing most of them.

  2. I’m going to keep my eyes out for that song. I confess to never having owned any Bowie, ever. That problem should probably be remedied.

    Thanks for reading, Diego.

  3. Jordy

    A voice like sand and glue

  4. @BackGirls_ 1 unfollowed you between 11AM and 12PM. See who: http://t.co/x75PnCiF

  5. @DimitrisZendit "let’s chat at blether!" is ready with @DimitrisZenditY http://t.co/rEQSoXsN #blether

  6. “I started growing Bob Dylan’s beard.” | So Well Remembered I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about “I started growing Bob Dylan’s beard.” | So Well Remembered Best Regards Justin Yoder

Leave a Reply

