Harriet Beecher Stowe – The May EP

Jeff always played sideways.

Harriet Beecher Stowe – “Waltz” from The May EP [2004]
Harriet Beecher Stowe – “Firebird One” from The May EP [2004]
Harriet Beecher Stowe – “Oceansandsky” from The May EP [2004]

Under the advisement of other SWR personnel, I am making available to the world the unreleased three-song EP by Harriet Beecher Stowe, my band from college.  Featuring the inimitable Jeff Wheeler on the Bass git-box, the irrepressible Mike Kopchick on the drum boxes, and the incontovertible myself on the git-fiddle, these songs are a decent representation of where the band might have gone if we hadn’t split up to do whatever people do after college.  Many thanks due to Ryan Wert for being awesome at putting sounds onto computers.

“Firebird One” also contains the most lyrics HBS ever had in a song, sung through a telephone.

Hope you enjoy.

It’s free you don’t have to buy it.

Posted by Phil

6 Comments

Filed under 2000s, Instrumental, Post-rock, Rock

6 responses to “Harriet Beecher Stowe – The May EP

  1. Blake

    Nice Phil. I actually stopped by when you guys were recording these songs. I had Ryan Wert make me a copy of the disc. It’s nice to have some names for the tracks since they’ve been called “song 1”, “song 2” and “song 3” in my itunes for the past four years. You guys were awesome.

  2. On my itunes, the songs are called “Waltz,” “The Phoenix,” and “The G In Jung Is A K.” I’m pretty sure I just made up that last title.

  3. Oh, and, of course, HBS was the shit. I listen to the album at least every couple weeks.

  4. Jeff Wheeler

    this music is screwing me up. there was chemistry there which is often lacking in ‘others i’ve seen’

  5. Phil

    HBS is dead. Long live HBS.

  6. Hey phil was talking about your band a couple days ago and wham the interweb wins again!

Leave a Reply

