Worst Song Ever: Part Two

Sonic Youth – “Creme Brulee” from Dirty (1992)

And you thought it was impossible to screw up this delectable dessert.

Sonic Youth has recorded their share of terrible songs (indeed, at least one terrible album), but this SY stinker takes the, err, cake. “Creme Brulee” closes out what is a mostly dreck-free album with an pathetic attempt at out-of-tune, drumless boogie-rock. Elsewhere on Drrrrty, Kim’s throaty shouting is matched with equally raunchy super-90s compressed guitars; songs like “Swimsuit Issue” and “Orange Rolls, Angel’s Spit” are pretty damn good, despite Kim’s irritating vocal stylings. (Though, in general, I prefer her breathy singing, featured here.) This is just shit. “Last night I dreamt I kissed Neil Young/If I was a boy guess it would be fun.”

In case you are interested, here are a few of my other contenders for Worst Song Ever post (mp3s not included, lest you lose your faith in recorded sound; instead, links to GOOD songs by these bands).

Ted Leo/Pharmacists – “Bomb.Repeat.Bomb” from Living With The Living
Pavement – “We Are Underused” from Brighten The Corners
Nirvana – “Aero Zeppelin” from Incesticide
Husker Du – “Every Everything” from Flip Your Wig

Buy Sonic Youth

Posted by Glenn

5 Comments

Filed under 1990s, Punk, Rock, Worst Songs Ever

5 responses to “Worst Song Ever: Part Two

  1. Jordy

    What a piece of shit. I will never listen to that again.

    I like that Pitchfork review.
    Take THAT, New York City!

  2. Phil

    I hate it. I hate it so much. I hate it.

    Also, I hate it.

  3. blake

    I never minded “we are underused”. However, the more I listen to that album and other Pavement albums, the more that song drops.

    I remember the first time I heard “Bomb Repeat Bomb”. I thought it was a joke.

  4. Terry

    What the fuck?

    Every Everything is a very good song. Shape.

  5. Gary M

    That song just flatout sucks.

    For the record, I think Aero Zeppelin by Nirvana is a great song.

Leave a Reply

