“Tell it to me slowly”

The Zombies – “Time of the Season [UK mono mix]” from Odessey & Oracle [1968]

As a young boy, I was captivated by this song.  The hushed forthrightness and swagger of the narrator disturbed me.  Nevertheless, I wanted to be the guy who could walk up to a girl and ask “What’s your name?/Who’s your daddy?/Is he rich like me?”  Damn.  I’ll never be that threatening/alluring.

This gem was written by Zombie Rod Argent whose keyboard passages define Odessey & Oracle as much as Colin Blunstone’s characteristic vocals.

Buy it here

Posted by Jordy

3 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Psychedelic, Rock

3 responses to ““Tell it to me slowly”

  1. Ace

    This song spans time…
    I loved it as a kid; my 17 year old loves it today…its true for many songs written in the day..

  2. Michelangelo

    Who can forget this other Zombies song
    ‘Summertime’.

    “your daddys rich and your mamas good lookin”

  3. “Tell it to me slowly” | So Well Remembered I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about “Tell it to me slowly” | So Well Remembered Best Regards Craig Cassetta

Leave a Reply

