“The color of the dream I had”

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “One Rainy Wish” from Axis: Bold As Love [1968]

Jordy and I were Google-chatting yesterday and he revealed that he had never “gotten” Jimi Hendrix. I was pretty sick of Hendrix after playing awful covers of “Fire,” “Hey Joe,” “Purple Haze,” and “Voodoo Child” in the basement with my middle school pals, but I’ve recently re-discovered the man. Check out a less famous Hendrix track and experience some defamilarization: hear Jimi with new ears. Maybe “One Rainy Wish” will convince you, Jord-man.

Amazon: Bold as Love

Posted by Glenn

1 Comment

Filed under 1960s, Psychedelic, Rock, Space rock

One response to ““The color of the dream I had”

  1. I also recently re-discovered Hendrix after seeing some of his storied 1967 performance at the Monterey Pop Festival (which was recently released on DVD). He was electric. No pun intended.

Leave a Reply

