Cinematic

Rick Wakeman – “Merlin the Magician” from The Myths and Legends of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table (1975)

It’s been some time since my friend Ben introduced me to Rick Wakeman’s solo work. I recall fondly my whirlwind romance with Wakeman’s first three records: The Six Wives of Henry VIII, Journey to the Centre of the Earth, and this gem.

“Merlin the Magician” is the stand-out track from Myths and Legends. It displays several shades of Wakeman’s brilliance and arrogance. It is, at turns, very beautiful and agonizingly pretentious. But I suppose that is the very hallmark of good prog rock.

Buy RW here

Posted by Jordy

2 Comments

Filed under 1970s, Prog Rock

2 responses to “Cinematic

  1. Ben Ward

    Good music for the ambitions teenager. I’m surprised we never tried to recreate Myths and Legends on Ice.

  2. Pingback: “Why can’t she see me?” « So Well Remembered

Leave a Reply

