“Call me when you try to wake her”

R.E.M. – “The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite” from Automatic for the People (1992)

I celebrate most of R.E.M.’s first decade but I have a special place for AftP. I admire its pop-punctuated darkness and find the lack of jangle quite refreshing (What’s so great about jangle anyway?)

This tune features the masterful string arrangements of Led Zeppelin’s most underrated member, John Paul Jones.

Check out Matthew Perpetua’s ambitious and excellent Pop Songs 08 blog for more R.E.M. insights.

Buy R.E.M.

Posted by Jordy

3 Comments

Filed under 1990s, Pop, Rock

3 responses to ““Call me when you try to wake her”

  1. glennlester

    Oh, nice choice here, Jord-man. I really love Stipe’s weird singing on this one (“What is he saying?” A.Y. demands as I type this) and the great organ. And I’d not paid much attention to these strings before, but they really sell the song.

  2. Jordy

    Apparently, everyone has their own interpretation of what he is singing in the chorus. Mine is: “Commie, will you try to wake her?”

  3. glennlester

    “Come here and try to wake me up.”

Leave a Reply

