“I want to keep white roses in their eyes”

Neutral Milk Hotel – “Holland, 1945” from In The Aeroplane Over The Sea [1998]

Jesus Christ this is a beautiful song.

Visionary beauty from another Elephant 6 Collective member, Jeff Mangum. This record captures tragedy and suffering as well as any pop record I can think of. Including Pet Sounds.

Bonus uninteresting trivia!: the wedding of Jordy’s brother featured a Neutral Milk Hotel song.

Check E6 on the web

Buy an Aeroplane here

Posted by Glenn

5 Comments

Filed under 1990s, Folk, Rock, Singer-Songwriter

5 responses to ““I want to keep white roses in their eyes”

  1. Thanks for the link Glenn.

    I love this band. I’m diving into their stuff again. I just downloaded the final Neutral Milk Hotel show, which gives me chills.

    “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea” is my favorite album of all time. I think Jordy says it’s too depressing to spend a lot of time listening to, but I disagree. While it is depressing at times, the beauty in it overpowers everything so that I can listen to it at anytime.

    Good post, guys.

  2. Adam Bailey

    Glenn, Blake, you’re both right. I only discovered this album about a year ago, and I’ve never looked back. I feel like I’m listening to a symphony when I listen to it, because everything is connected; I barely know the song titles because I can’t just listen to one song, I have to listen to the whole thing. It is definitely one of my favorite albums. True, it can be depressing, but I think in the end its optimistic. In addition its just about the best concept album around. Has anyone read the 33&1/3 book about the album?

  3. Jordy

    “Now she’s a little boy in Spain playing pianos filled with flames.”

    I just listened to this album on Sunday. It’s true – I do have a hard time getting through it. It’s very heavy in my opinion. My difficulty in doing so may be analogous to watching someone being tortured because Mangum sounds so honest and pained on the whole thing.

  4. I have not read that book, though I am aware of it. I’d like to read it. I’m with Bailey in that when I listen to Neutral Milk Hotel it needs to be whole albums, not pieces.

  5. Pingback: “I took my shirt off in the yard” « So Well Remembered

Leave a Reply

