“He hurt you then, but that’s all gone.”

The Beach Boys – “I’m Waiting for the Day” from Pet Sounds (1966)

This gem from Brian Wilson’s masterpiece, Pet Sounds, is a perfect example of how that album set a new standard for pop songwriting.  It combined an infectious melody with flawless harmonies, unique but appropriate instrumentation, and one of the greatest codas in rock history.  Most of this craft was due, no doubt, to B. Wilson’s obsessive attention to detail and demand for perfection.

The record was recorded over a span of six months and each song features between 10 and 20 or more musicians.  Read about the storied production of the album here.

I can’t say enough good things about Pet Sounds, if only for the tremendous work ethic and respect for the medium it exhibits.  It is most certainly among the top five best albums of all time, in my view.

Buy it here

Posted by Jordy

7 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Pop, Rock

7 responses to ““He hurt you then, but that’s all gone.”

  1. b

    i’ve had restless nights thinking about this album. keeps me up, sometimes makes me cry its so good. cry just because its good, not sad. top 1 albums.

  2. Jordy

    I hear you. It’s almost supernatural in its perfection.

  3. Adam Bailey

    A great choice…this is probably my favorite song on the album. I love the drums, and of course, the vocals are sublime

  4. glennlester

    I always forget about this song, coming as it does after my Pet Sounds fave, “Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder).” It’s a great track.

    That’s a cool picture, too.

  5. Pingback: “I want to keep white roses in their eyes” « So Well Remembered

  6. Blueman

    Amazing album,truly amazing,so Layered and coloured,so beautifully textured. Can Anybody confirm if thats Phil Spector in the pic with them?

  7. Pingback: Beach Boys: Pet Sounds « So Well Remembered

Leave a Reply

