“as if I had been dissolved into vapour…”

Brian Eno & David Byrne – “Mea Culpa” from My Life in the Bush of Ghosts (1981)

The recently re-released Eno/Byrne collaboration predicted everything from The Books to, I dunno, Radiohead, Aphex Twin, and the Ghostbusters soundtrack. Redolent of Fela Kuti, Steve Reich, Miles, and Pink Floyd, the music nevertheless struck me like Bitches Brew did on first listen: where the hell did this come from? Psychedelic? Hell yes. Dub? Hell yes. Listen to this, one of My Life‘s more minimal tracks, and then think that these two guys made, between the two of them, about eight other top-notch records in the preceding six years.

Thanks to Steve K for turning me on to this.

Amazon is waiting

Surf the Bush of Ghosts

Posted by Glenn

1 Comment

Filed under 1980s, Dub, Experimental, Psychedelic, Rock

One response to ““as if I had been dissolved into vapour…”

  1. Jordy

    That’s some cool stuff. I’ve been wanting this disc for a long time. You pushed me over the edge and I just bought it.

Leave a Reply

