“Finally I felt like handcuffs/machines disregard my pronouns/I am defeated, I am the cool damp clay”

Minutemen – “The Anchor” from What Makes A Man Start Fires? (1983)

Minutemen – “My Heart and the Real World” from Double Nickels on the Dime (1984)

Most rock fans are at least tangentially familiar with the Minutemen’s unique brand of punk-funk-jazz fusion, but don’t let the genre moniker throw you off; this ain’t bland Red Hot Chili Pepper sauce. To me the Minutemen are among the most consistently inspired and inspiring bands ever. Track by track the band is good, but please, please, please pick up Double Nickels on the Dime (if you haven’t already) to witness a total barrage of ideas and passion. See the newish doc We Jam Econo for a good history.

“The Anchor,” besides referring to a beautiful landmark (see above), is one of Boon & Co.’s funkiest and longest early tunes, while “My Heart and the Real World” stands as the best of Watt’s mediations on language and linguistics.

Get your heart yanked out here

Posted by Glenn

3 Comments

Filed under 1980s, Punk, Rock

3 responses to ““Finally I felt like handcuffs/machines disregard my pronouns/I am defeated, I am the cool damp clay”

  1. I have Double Nickels on the Dime because of Glenn Lester. I am better because of it.

  2. Pingback: “Mom and Dad, don’t worry” « So Well Remembered

  3. Pingback: “I live sweat, but I dream light years” « So Well Remembered

Leave a Reply

